Now a days, I’m reading on Kosher, the dietary law of Jews or Judaism. You know what? It is interesting to read about it that how people are curious about selecting and eating food like what we Muslims do. For Muslims, the food must be Halal and for Jews the food must be Kosher. I have read in an article of the website that Modern Jews are not much concerned about their dietary law (Kosher). They say, things are different now. Modern Jews think that Kosher is a Quality Assurance of the food and food that is not kosher can be eaten because of latest techniques. But it is their problem whether they follow their rules or not, I don’t care at least. :) Rabbi is responsible to make it sure.
Types Of Meat and Drinks:
- Land animals that chew their cud (ruminate) and have a split (cloven) hoof may be eaten (note that animals with toes may not be eaten. They must be true hooves). This includes livestock like cattle and sheep, but not pigs (which do not chew their cud) or camels (which do not have split hooves).
- Animals that eat meat (carnivores and omnivores) may not be eaten. This also means that birds of prey may not be eaten.
- Specific birds (from a list) may not be eaten. This includes ostrich for example.
- Fish must have fins and scales. Fish without scales (like eels), seafood (like lobster and shrimp), and shellfish (like mussels) are forbidden.
- No amphibians or reptiles may be eaten. Examples of these are frogs.
- Most insects may not be eaten, with some exceptions like locusts.
- Wine must be specially made. There are special rules about alcohol and other intoxicating substances.
Details of kashrut are extensive, the laws all derive from a few fairly simple, straightforward rules:
- Certain animals may not be eaten at all. This restriction includes the flesh, organs, eggs and milk of the forbidden animals.
- Of the animals that may be eaten, the birds and mammals must be killed in accordance with Jewish law.
- All blood must be drained from meat and poultry or broiled out of it before it is eaten.
- Certain parts of permitted animals may not be eaten.
- Fruits and vegetables are permitted, but must be inspected for bugs (which cannot be eaten)
- Meat (the flesh of birds and mammals) cannot be eaten with dairy. Fish, eggs, fruits, vegetables and grains can be eaten with either meat or dairy. (According to some views, fish may not be eaten with meat).
- Utensils (including pots and pans and other cooking surfaces) that have come into contact with meat may not be used with dairy, and vice versa. Utensils that have come into contact with non-kosher food may not be used with kosher food. This applies only where the contact occurred while the food was hot.
- Grape products made by non-Jews may not be eaten.
- There are a few other rules that are not universal.
Rules To Prepare Kosher Food:
- The animals need to be killed in a special way. The kosher slaughterer has religious training for this work.
- An animal that dies by natural means, or is killed by another animal or a hunter, may not be eaten.
- Meat from a sick animal may not be eaten.
- No blood may be eaten. All blood needs to be drained from the meat (by soaking and salting it). In eggs, not even eggs with just a spot of blood can be eaten.
- Foods made in a factory have a kashrut label on the package. This means the food is approved by an inspector chosen by a rabbi.
- A kosher kitchen has separate sets of dishes: one for meat foods, another for dairy foods.
- Food may not be cooked during the Sabbath. (Shabbat, begins Friday when the sun goes down, and ends Saturday night after it gets dark.).
Another interesting thing about Jews is that they don’t work in Shabbat. Because it is not allowed according to their holy book Torah. They think that this day is for rest and study the Torah.